something wicked

“First of all, it was October, a rare month for boys.”

― Ray Bradbury, Something Wicked This Way Comes

Took my favorite red-headed-stepchild out and about yesterday for a little Halloween photo shoot…he’s a sixth grader this year, and who knows how many more years of trick-or-treating we have together!?

We headed to a local cemetery – an abandoned hotel – and a little playground…

and he creeped his little heart out, cackling, laughing, running around, sneaking up on me, and occasionally asking me “not to go too far away because I get scared when I can’t find you!” (ohhh the irony)

Starring Noah, as himself, and THE scariest costume he’s ever chosen – picked especially because he knows I am terr-i-fied of clowns (thanks, Stephen King!)

   

    

I’m going to wear this costume for YEARS, he said.

“My wife will have to help me get into it…”

he said.

ummm..

    

    

  

    

    

    

the homeowners LOVED him, snapped pictures of him, complimented him, made a big fuss. he loved every minute! one guy shoved the whole bowl at him “TAKE IT! TAKE ALL THE CANDY, JUST GO!”

kids ran away, dogs barked at him, I could barely stand to look at him! totally successful costume, I’d say!

he also said “thank you” to every single candy-giver, took off his mask if little children seemed too scared, told nearly everyone he saw “HAPPY HALLOWEEN!!”…I love that kid!

Halloween wraps fear in innocence, 

As though it were a slightly sour sweet.

Let terror, then, be turned into a treat…

~Nicholas Gordon

*more pictures of our creepy little guy here

About cleverwhatever

http://about.me/breelash View all posts by cleverwhatever

You must be logged in to post a comment.

